8. Congregational Cemetery - site of 1866 Chapel
In November 1865 Thomas Carter (also known as Bacon) donated land, for the purpose of erecting a Chapel for the "Public Worship of Almighty God - according to the usages of the Protestants of the Congregational Denomination, commonly called Independents ... "
£37 had already been collected, and by September 1866, with community support, a service was held in the new Chapel. The opening was celebrated on November 9th, with 250 people joining in hymns, readings, prayers and singing, and two sermons
The chapel still awaited painting, seating, a platform and fencing, and here the £12 collection helped. A sumptuous spread of joints of poultry, - pigs, pastries, tea and coffee was enjoyed by all.
Sadly, just over 100 years later, the Chapel was destroyed in the bushfires of February 1967. The associated graveyard is a little gem of history, but apart from those named on the gravestones, and five others, the rest remain unknown.
The rehabilitation and fencing of this site was commenced almost 133 years to the day after its original opening. This time however the Landcare volunteers only managed pastries and hot drinks.
After leaving the Cemetery, cross the main road and walk past the Knopwood Shopping Centre, cross Church St., and follow the pavement Windmill signs, to the front of the Rokeby Store.